Grains and Flours Glossary

Gluten-Free Diet: Grains and Flours

This list is intended to be an aid in choosing and enjoying gluten-free foods. Self-management of one’s diet requires awareness of foods’ content by label reading; awareness of foods’ contact with gluten-containing grains; and awareness of foods’ contamination by such grains in storage or preparation. Research on the relationship of celiac disease and food items is still limited.  
Order The CSA Gluten-Free Product Listing  published each year since 1996, to provide information for informed decision-making.

Research is the key to indicating the celiac toxic amino acid sequences.in the grains. Support the research efforts with a donation to the Celiac Support Association.      Donate Now

Read the Gluten Free Flour Formula Page by clicking here.

As with the general public, people with celiac disease,  dermatitis herpetiformis and others  requiring a gluten-free choices, may also need to consider food allergies. The eight major food allergen groups are:
Milk * Eggs * Fish * Crustacean shellfish * Tree nuts * Peanuts * Wheat * Soybeans     

Wheat, as a major allergen will be listed on the ingredient label of products regulated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Three Step Self-Management Program was designed by Jean E. Guest, PhD, RD LMT  to optimize the health of those with celiac disease. Self-management is the key to living a full life, gluten-free. Personal application must be based upon understanding one's own tolerances. 

  Explanation of Symbols  
gluten-free Consistent with a
g luten-free diet at this
time.
questionable Questionable due to content, contact, or contamination. not gluten-free NOT CONSISTENT WITH A GLUTEN-FREE DIET AT THIS TIME.

A | B | C | D | E | F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W

gluten-free acorn [Quercus spp.] Sweet edible nut used whole or ground into flour. Flour adds flavor and fiber, but does not bind well.

gluten-free almond [Prunus amygdalus] Sweet edible nut used whole or ground into flour. This flour, alone or in combination with other flours, is used in breads, cakes and pastries.

gluten-free amaranth [Amaranthaceae] Many varieties; related to spinach, beets and pigweed. Tiny seeds are commercially available whole, or ground into a light brown flour with a nutty taste. Highly nutritious. Edible leaves.

gluten-free amaranth [Amaranthaceae] Many varieties; related to spinach, beets and pigweed. Tiny seeds are commercially available whole, or ground into a light brown flour with a nutty taste. Highly nutritious. Edible leaves.

gluten-free arborio rice Short-grain white rice of Northern Italy used for risotto. Cooks up creamy. Similar to the California-grown short-grain variety, pearl.

gluten-free aromatic rice Brown or white rice with a natural aroma and flavor similar to roasted nuts or popcorn.

gluten-free arrowroot [Maranta arundinacea] Herbaceous tropical perennial. The starch, extracted from the rhizomes, is used as a thickener and blends well with gluten-free flours. Interchangeable with cornstarch.

gluten-free artichoke [Cynara scolymus] Flower head of a thistle-like plant. Used cooked as a vegetable, or dried and ground into flour. Combine flour with rice, potato, and/or tapioca flour for breads and other baked goods.

not gluten-free BARLEY [Hordeum vulgare] The offending storage protein [prolamin] is known as hordein. BARLEY is present in many commercial products as malt, flavorings, colorings, and/or flavor enhancers. May be a part of hydrolyzed plant protein [HPP] or hydrolyzed vegetable protein [HVP].

gluten-free basmati rice Very slender, long-grain, highly aromatic rice grown in India and Pakistan. High in flavor; available in brown and white forms.

gluten-free beans Seeds of leguminous plants. Used whole as a cooked vegetable; pureed as a thickener, or dried and ground into flour. Many commercial gluten-free bean flours are available. (See legumes.)

gluten-free besan (gram, chickpea flour) Pale yellow flour made from ground, dried chickpeas; very nutritious, high in protein. Used in doughs, dumplings, and noodles; as a thickener for sauces; and as a batter for deep fried food.

gluten-free black and red rice Rare Asian rice grains with black and red husks and bran coverings. (Also cultivated in California.)

gluten-free boil-in-bag rice Rice that is pre-measured, cooked, and packaged in a colander-style plastic bag for quick, convenient cooking.

questionable bran (WHEAT, RYE, OAT, corn, rice) The meal derived from the epidermis layer or outer covering of a cereal grain.

gluten-free brewer's rice Tiny particles of rice or rice chips, primarily used as an ingredient in brewing beer or in animal feed.

gluten-free brown rice Kernels of rice from which only the hull has been removed. Cooked brown rice has a slightly chewy texture and a nut-like flavor.

gluten-free brown rice flour Ground form of brown rice with a nutty taste.

gluten-free buckwheat [Fagopyrum esculentum] Herb with triangular-shaped seed and black shell, used whole, cracked or ground into flour.

not gluten-free BULGUR (WHEAT, burghul) A quick-cooking form of whole WHEAT that has been cleaned, parboiled, dried, crushed or ground into particles and sifted into distinct sizes.

gluten-free calrose A type of medium-grain rice grown in California.

gluten-free canola [Brassica napus] Hybrid rape seed developed in Canada, most commonly found as cooking oil.

gluten-free Carolina gold rice Distinctive rice grown in the South Carolina low country, known for its golden outer hull.

gluten-free cassava [Manihot esculenta] (tapioca, manioc, yuca) Starch, extracted from the root, is ground into flour, which is used as a thickener for soups, fruit fillings and glazes, much like cornstarch.

questionable cereal Any plant from the grass family with an edible seed. The most popular cereal grains are WHEAT, rice, corn, OATS, BARLEY, RYE, millet, quinoa, sorghum, TRITICALE, wild rice, SPELT, and tef.

gluten-free channa Type of chickpea grown in the East Indies. Used whole or ground into flour.

gluten-free chestnut [Castanea dentata] Smooth-shelled, sweet, edible nut. Usually roasted, then used whole or ground into flour.

gluten-free chickpea (garbanzo) Seed of leguminous plant of the pea family, used whole, pureed or ground into flour. (See besan.)

gluten-free coconut flour From finely ground coconut meat with most of the fat and moisture removed. A low carb flour with 61% fiber. A good protein source. Mild flavor. May be used alone or in combination with other flours in baked goods.

gluten-free converted® Registered trade-mark used to describe parboiled rice. 

gluten-free corn [Zea mays] Maize, cereal plant native to the Americas. Kernels are largest of cereal seeds. Six major types are dent, flint, flour, sweet, pop and pod corns. Used whole or processed into a multitude of products including sweeteners, flours and oils. 

gluten-free corn flour Finely-milled flour from the entire kernel of corn. Can be blended with corn meal and small amounts of other flours for making cornbread and cornmeal mush. Found in white, yellow and blue varieties.

gluten-free corn gluten Nutrient supplement.

gluten-free corn malt Flavoring agent.

gluten-free cornmeal Coarse grade of milled corn flour. (Not a substitute for cornstarch or corn flour.) Found in white, yellow and blue varieties.

gluten-free cornstarch Thickener derived from corn.

gluten-free cottonseed [Gossypium hirsutum] Used as a seed or ground into flour; seeds typically pressed and used as an oil for margarine or cooking oil.

not gluten-free COUSCOUS (WHEAT) Granular semolina dish of steamed, crushed, cooked grain.

gluten-free dal (dhal) Split peas or beans from India; used whole, pureed, or ground as flour.

gluten-free dasheen flour (eddo flour) Variation of taro flour, used as a thickener. (See taro flour.)

gluten-free della rice Cross of long-grain rice and basmati rice, developed in the United States.

not gluten-free DINKLE (WHEAT, spelt) Common name for spelt. 

not gluten-free DURUM [Triticum dicoccum] (WHEAT) Variety of the Triticums; has high gluten content and is mainly used for pasta.

questionable edible starch Can be WHEAT starch or a mixture of several starches.

not gluten-free EINKORN [Triticum monoccum] (WHEAT) Primitive small-grained WHEAT of Europe and Asia. Einkorn WHEAT represented on some labels as non-glutinous, low-gluten or listed as a corn or maize product.

gluten-free enriched rice White rice with some of the nutrients, mainly the B vitamins, iron, niacin and folic acid, restored after the milling process.

questionable farina, farinaceous Fine flour or meal made from cereal grains or the starch of vegetables.

not gluten-free FARINA® (WHEAT) A hot WHEAT cereal.Leon H. Rottmann, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
Excerpted from CSA Handbook, Ist Edition 
Lifeline, Winter 1995, Vol XIII, No 1, pp 1-2

 not gluten-free FARO [Triticum dicoccum] (WHEAT) Another name for  WHEAT. 

gluten-free fava bean (faba) Legume. Used whole, cooked as a vegetable or ground into flour.  Unrelated to celiac disease, favism is an allergic reaction to fava beans that can be life threatening. Favism is most common in those of Mediterranean descent.

gluten-free flaxseed [Linum usitatissimum] Seed of ancient medicinal herb, with a nutty flavor. Used whole, toasted or sprouted; ground into meal; or pressed into oil. High in fiber.

questionable flour Finely-ground form of a product. Source may be plant, animal or mineral.

questionable food starch Can be WHEAT starch or a mixture of several starches.

not gluten-free FU (WHEAT) Dried form of gluten, typically from WHEAT if made in Asian countries. (Should not be confused with tofu, which is made from soy.)

not gluten-free FREEKEH [Triticum] (WHEAT) Middle Eastern cereal from green WHEAT. Another name for WHEAT.

gluten-free garbanzo (chickpea) Seed of leguminous plant of the pea family. Used whole, pureed or ground into flour. (See besan.)

not gluten-free GLIADIN Naturally occurring simple proteins (gluten peptides) found in the gluten of WHEAT.

not gluten-free GLUTEN Storage protein of WHEAT. Used as an umbrella term, although technically not correct, to include storage proteins of BARLEY, RYE, and OATS.

not gluten-free GLUTEN PEPTIDES Term used to describe smaller units of proteins from WHEAT, BARLEY, RYE, and OATS.

not gluten-free GLUTENIN Naturally occurring simple proteins (gluten peptides) found in the gluten of WHEAT.

gluten-free glutinous rice The term glutinous refers to its sticky texture when cooked. White, brown, or black rice characterized by broad, short grains that stick together during cooking; mainly used in Asian sweet snacks; also known as sweet rice, sticky rice, or waxy rice.

gluten-free glutinous rice flour (sweet, mochiko) Works well as a thickener in sauces and soups. Sauces thickened with sweet rice flour will not separate when frozen and thawed.

not gluten-free GRAHAM flour (WHEAT) Graham flours are WHEAT flours, not to be confused with gram flour from chickpeas.

gluten-free gram flour (besan) Made from chickpeas.

questionable granary flour May be a combination of flours based on cereal grains.

questionable grits Any coarsely ground grain. Used as a cereal or a side dish.

questionable groats Hulled crushed grain. Used as a cereal, side dish, or as a thickener in soups.

questionable hemp (Industrial) No research on the dietary use of hemp for a celiac diet is on file in the CSA office. Should be gluten-free but sample of hemp flour tested ELISA 15 ppm gliadin in 2001.

gluten-free hominy White or yellow corn kernels from which the hull and germ have been removed. Used canned as a side dish or in casseroles.

gluten-free hominy grits Side dish of coarsely ground dried hominy.

questionable hulls Outer inedible covering or husk layer that encloses any grain kernel. Industrial uses.

gluten-free instant rice Rice that has been precooked and dehydrated.

gluten-free japonica rice Specialty rice, typically used for rice stuffing and side dishes.

gluten-free jasmine rice Variety of aromatic rice.

gluten-free Job's tears [Coix lachryma-jobi] Seed of ancient annual grass, resembling large barley. Used as a substitute for pearl barley.

not gluten-free KAMUT®   [Triticum turgidum] (WHEAT) A brand of khorasan variety of wheat, with large kernels. Commercially grown in Montana.

gluten-free kaniwa  Seed related to quinoa, cooked like a grain. Small reddish brown seed with a toasty, nutty flavor.

gluten-free kasha Roasted buckwheat groats, with a toasty, nutty flavor. Russian kasha dish may also contain millet and oats.

not gluten-free KHORASAN [Triticum turgidum] (WHEAT) Ancient variety of WHEAT brougth to the US after WW II. Marketed under brandname KAMUT®.

gluten-free koshihikari Variety of Japanese rice, now being cultivated in the United States.

gluten-free kudzu Leguminous Asian plant whose roots yield a starchy powdered extract, used as a thickener. Leaves and stems are also edible.

gluten-free legumes, leguminous Plants with seeds in pods. There are more than a hundred legumes including: peanuts, lentils, peas, soya, beans, channa, garbanzo (chickpea, gram). Versatile served as vegetables, dried and ground into flour, or pureed. May be processed into oils or butters.

gluten-free lentils Tiny lens-shaped seeds of a leguminous plant. The three main varieties are: French/European lentil, Egyptian/red lentil, and yellow lentil.

gluten-free long-grain rice Brown or white rice kernels, averaging five times as long as they are wide.

gluten-free maize, maiz, masa harina Other names for corn or corn flour.

questionable malt Artificially germinated and dried seeds of grain, typically BARLEY or corn, ground into a powder. Malt is the basis for a variety of flavoring agents. Corn malt is gluten-free.

gluten-free manioc [Manihot esculenta] (cassava, tapioca, yuca) Starch, extracted from the root, is ground into flour, which is used as a thickener for soups, fruit fillings and glazes, much like cornstarch.

not gluten-free MATZA, MATZO, MATZAH (WHEAT) Traditional Jewish unleavened bread made from WHEAT.

gluten-free millet [Panicum miliaceum] Drought-tolerant grasses with small seeds which can be substituted for sorghum in most recipes.

gluten-free milo Versatile grain used whole, cracked or as a flour. (See sorghum.)

not gluten-free MIR. [Mironovskaya spp.] (WHEAT and RYE cross) Many variations.

gluten-free modified corn starch Corn starch chemically modified to improve properties for commercial uses.

questionable modified food starch (WHEAT, corn, potato, tapioca) Starch that has been modified by rearranging the molecules.

gluten-free modified tapioca starch Tapioca modified to improve consistency, stability and flavor.

gluten-free nuts Tree nuts and peanuts (a legume) do not contain gluten. Used whole or processed into butters or oils.

questionable nuts, dry roasted Processing agents may contain WHEAT flour or flavorings.

questionable OAT bran Meal derived from the epidermis layer or outer covering of the OATgrain.

questionable OAT fiber Used commercially in a variety of products. High fiber content.

questionable OAT gum Stabilizer found in processed meats and cheeses.

questionable OATS [Avena sativa] Storage protein, (prolamin), is known as avenin. Conflicting studies exist on whether pure OATS are problematic for those diagnosed with celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis. OAT prolamins comprise only about 10-15% of the total protein in OATS, much less than in wheat, barley, or rye.
"The Scoop on Oats." (For further information, see the Q&A on "OATS and the Celiac", page 14, Spring 2001 CSA Lifeline.)

questionable  OATS Gluten-Free are specially selected varieties, and handled from field to fork to eliminate cross contamination with wheat, barley and rye. 

gluten-free peanut [Arachis hypogaea] Seed of a leguminous plant. Used whole, ground into flour, or processed into an oil or butter.

gluten-free pearl rice California short-grain; white kernels very plump and almost round.

gluten-free polished rice Regular milled white rice. The outer husk is removed, and the layers of bran are milled until the grain is white.

gluten-free popcorn Variety of corn suitable for popping. Unpopped kernels may be milled into a light corn flour. Popped corn may be pulverized and added to ready-to-eat breakfast cereals, or used as soup/salad toppers.

gluten-free popcorn rice Grown in Louisiana, this long-grain rice is cross between basmati and regular rice. (Tastes like buttered popcorn, but the scent is stronger than the flavor.)

gluten-free potato flour Commercially ground from the whole potato, used as a thickener. Retains potato flavor.

gluten-free potato starch flour, potato starch Commercially prepared from cooked potatoes that are washed of all fibers until only the starch remains.

gluten-free precooked rice White or brown rice that has been completely cooked and dehydrated after milling.

questionable prolamin Any class of simple amino acid strings high in proline and glutamine. Gliadin and glutenin are the prolamins for WHEAT, zein for corn, hordein for BARLEY, secalin for RYE, and avenin for OATS.

gluten-free quinoa [Chenopodiacum quinoa Willd.] Seed of ancient cereal grain of Peru, related to amaranth. Mild nutty flavor. Versatile; can be substituted for any grain. Used whole; as a hot cereal; ground into flour. Adds moisture to baked goods.

gluten-free red rice Type of rice grown in South Carolina. (Also refers to a dish consisting of tomatoes and rice.)

gluten-free rice [Oryza sativa] ("Races" called Indica, Javonica, and Sinica) Semi-aquatic member of the grass family. Rice is gluten-free and non-allergenic. Categorized as short, medium and long, the edible seed is the staple grain for over half the world's population.

gluten-free rice bran Outer layer of brown rice; an excellent source of thiamin, niacin, vitamin B-6, iron, phosphorus, magnesium, potassium and fiber.

gluten-free rice bran oil Mild-flavored oil extracted from rice bran; has a very high smoking point which makes it suitable for frying.

gluten-free rice couscous Cracked rice resembling a cracked wheat product called couscous.

gluten-free rice flour, white rice flour Ground form of rice that is gluten-free and non-allergenic.

gluten-free rice hulls Outer inedible covering protecting the rice kernel--industrial uses.

gluten-free risotto Creamy Italian rice dish in which rice is sautéed and cooked in broth.

gluten-free rosematta Parboiled rice from South India. The bran gives an attractive rose color.

gluten-free rough rice Rice, as it comes from the field, also known as paddy rice. Rough rice kernels are encased in an inedible, protective hull.

not gluten-free RYE [Secale cereale] The offending storage protein (prolamin) is secalin. Used as flour for baking bread. Grain may be fermented to produce alcoholic beverages or industrial alcohol.

gluten-free saffron [Crocus sativus] Derived from the dried stigmas of a purple-flowered crocus. Used to color and flavor foods.

gluten-free sago Starch extracted from tropical palms, and processed into flour, meal, or pearl sago (similar to tapioca.) Used as a thickener.

not gluten-free SEITAN (WHEAT, wheat meat) Made from WHEAT gluten. Used in vegetarian and Asian dishes.

not gluten-free SEMOLINA (WHEAT) Coarsely ground durum WHEAT. Mainly used for pasta.

gluten-free sesame White, brown or black seeds. Used whole, ground as flour, or pressed into oil.

gluten-free short-grain rice Brown or white rice kernels that are much thicker than long-grain varieties. Grains are soft and stick together when cooked.

gluten-free sorghum, milo [Sorghum bicolor L. Moench] Drought-tolerant cereal grain used primarily as a flour or sweet syrup. Third most prevalent food crop worldwide. Certified food grade white sorghum has been specially developed for the food industry. Gluten-Free Sorghum Recipes

gluten-free soy, soybean [Glycine max L. Merr] (soya, kinako, edamame) High- protein, high-fat legume, which is processed into a variety of food products. Oil is used in cooking and salad dressings. Flour has strong, distinctive, nut flavor. Most recipes are designed to use low-fat soy flours; soy milks and tofu use high-fat soy flours.

not gluten-free SPELT [Triticum spelta] (WHEAT, dinkle, farro, dinkel) Ancient cereal grain with a mellow nutty flavor. “Spelt Is Wheat”

gluten-free starch Reserve poly-saccharide in plants. Starches from many sources are used commercially as thickeners and gelling agents. In the U.S., when the single word "starch" appears on a food label, the source must be corn. CFR Title 21, Section 578.100 October 1, 1980. (This does not apply to starch in pharmaceuticals).

gluten-free sunflower seed Can be dried or roasted and eaten as a snack; used in salads or sandwiches; or added to a variety of cooked dishes and baked goods. Oil is used in cooking and salad dressings. The seed may be finely ground and added to flour combinations for a dark color and nutty taste.

gluten-free sweet potato [Ipomoea batatas] Tropical American vine of the morning glory family, cultivated for its fleshy , tuberous orange-colored root. Used cooked as a vegetable, or dried and ground into a flour.

gluten-free sweet rice flour Glutinous waxy rice, containing more starch than the brown and white rice flours. Excellent thickener; binds and reduces separation in sauces that are to be frozen and then reheated. (Cannot substitute for brown or white rice flours.)

gluten-free tapioca Starchy substance extracted from the root of the cassava plant, used mainly in puddings. Tapioca flour is used as a thickener, especially in fruit dishes because it produces a clear gel. Adds "tooth" to gluten-free breads. (See cassava and manioc.)

gluten-free taro flour Commercially processed from a starchy tropical root. Used as a thickener, similar to tapioca.

gluten-free tef [Eragrostis tef] (tef grass or teff) Very small black ancient grain of the millet family. Principal grain in Ethiopian bread (Injera), which is described as a soft, porous, thin pancake.

gluten-free texmati A variety of aromatic rice.

not gluten-free TRITICALE [Triticosecale sp.] (WHEAT, RYE) Hybrid cross of WHEAT and RYE.

questionable udon Japanese noodles made from WHEAT or corn.

gluten-free urd Variety of green gram or bean cultivated in India.

gluten-free Valencia rice A short-grain rice.

gluten-free water chestnut Edible tuber of a water plant. Used fresh, canned or dried. Dried water chestnuts may be ground to a flour or powder and used as a thickener, or for coating foods prior to frying.

gluten-free waxy rice flour See glutinous rice and sweet rice flour.

gluten-free wehani rice California-grown hybrid rice with Indian basmati in its ancestry; reddish color; very nutty aroma and flavor.

not gluten-free WHEAT [Triticum aestivum, Triticum vulgare, Triticum dicoccum, Triticum monococcum] World's largest cereal grass crop. Offending prolamins are glutenin and gliadin. All WHEAT and WHEAT products contain varying amounts of these prolamins. Used whole, cracked, ground into flour, or processed into oil. There are many varieties of WHEAT, the triticums.

not gluten-free WHEAT berry The kernel of WHEAT.

not gluten-free WHEAT germ The embryo of WHEAT.

not gluten-free WHEAT germ oil Derived from WHEAT. Gluten level will vary by product.

not gluten-free WHEAT grass Leaves of WHEAT. There is no research available on the gluten content.

not gluten-free WHEAT gluten The natural protein derived from WHEAT. Also, powdered form of seitan.

not gluten-free WHEAT nut Any Triticum WHEAT, soaked or boiled and then dried to be sold as "WHEAT nuts".

questionable WHEAT starch By-product of WHEAT processing in which the carbohydrates (starch) are separated from the gluten (protein) in wheat flour by means of a complex process of washing, agitating, sieving, centrifugation and use of hydrocyclone, then drying.  Sometimes added to food items during processing to thicken and stabilize.  WHEAT starch is not considered a risk-free choice; gluten content of WHEAT starch varies greatly.  Both the Codex Alimentarious and the proposed FDA definitions for "gluten-free" allow the use of WHEAT starch and other ingredients "specially processed to remove gluten" in foods labeled "gluten-free" so long as the gluten level does not exceed 20 parts per million in total based on the food as sold or distributed to the consumer.

gluten-free wild rice [Zizania aquatica] Seed of plume-topped wild aquatic grass found mainly in the United States and Canada. Can be used whole or milled into a dark flour.

gluten-free wild pecan rice Aromatic long-grain rice grown in Louisiana. Named for the strong aroma and milder, but distinct nutty taste.


RESOURCES

  1. The Code of Federal Regulations, Office of the Federal Register National Archives and Records Administration. U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, D.C.  
  2. A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives, 7th Edition, Ruth Winter, M.S. Three Rivers Press, New York, 2009.
  3. A Consumer's Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients, 7th Edition, Ruth Winter, M.S. Three Rivers Press, New York, 2009.
  4. Handbook of Cereal Science and Technology, 2nd Edition, Edited by Karel Kulp and Joseph G. Ponte, Jr. Marcel Dekker, Inc., New York, 2000.
  5. Food Lover's Companion, 4th Edition, Sharon Tyler Herbst Barron's, New York, 2007.
  6. Celiac Disease Methods and Protocols, Edited by Michael N. Marsh, MD, DSc, FRCP Humana Press, New Jersey, 2000
  7. The Bread & Circus Whole Food Bible, Christopher S. Kilham, Addison-Wesley, New York, 1991